Ramblings

More matter with less art Jamie, thank you!

WARNING: This is an unapologetically cliched and an undoubtedly generic first blog post – in which I express my disbelief and wonder how I could have left it so late in my 18 years of life to create one of these metonyms of twenty-first century life.

If Shakespeare were around now, he would tell me to hurry up and get to the point, as “brevity is the soul of wit”, but unfortunately, I’m not one of those people who can express themselves in as few words as possible. I ramble and vacillate – in a Russell Brand/Nigella Lawson type of way. It’s probably perceptible that I’m slightly delusional and lofty (if not a tad self indulgent, but hey, I’m the first to poke fun at myself) even from these few lines – after all, I’ve already presumed that Shakespeare would be talking to me – but stick with me….I’m a newbie.

So, finally, I’ll introduce myself in as brief a manner as I can. My name is Jamie Tuohy. I’m Irish. I’m 18. I’m a Sagittarius. I study English in Trinity College, Dublin. I’m interested in drama and literature. There: DONE. That was painfully banal use of the first personal pronoun, but I’m trying to be quick and to the point, so forgive me.

Unfortunately, as of yet, I don’t think  my blog will be renowned for subject specificity. I am a self confessed media-whore and an unrepentant, commercially mass produced X-Factor generation type kid, so if you’re looking for cool, hipster style posts, I’m probably not your guy. However, if you’re in the market for occasionally glorious and always chillaxed style posts about my obsessions with fancy baking, a keen love for Cheryl Cole, an adoration of books and theatre (opinions and some reviews) and  my mental rhubarb about what I think of the telly, then I might have something to offer you. So, basically, Jamie – you plan on talking about loads of stuff? Yes, blog,  I suppose I do!

My first few posts are going to be for a very specific audience as they’ll be a self styled guide on how to get an A1 in Leaving Cert English (the Irish equivalent to the A-Levels). Breathe a sigh of relief – I do, plan on diversifying in content!!

There it is: a painfully boring first introductory post, but remember – “though this be madness, there’s method in’t”.

Later, you crazy kids,

Jamie.

Standard

Leave a Reply

