Indulgence

I’m not one for doing things by halves and this is something you will have seen from my pavlova recipe! If I’m doing something, I go all out and live in a Romantic ideal of excess. My only criticism of being a complete Romantic is the amount of effort that goes into creating something that I can class as ‘excess’ (and believe me, I class it as so, quite unashamedly). However, not everything has to be prodigious and labour intensive – in fact, it’s all the better if it isn’t! While it would be much easier to go out to a bakery and buy some delicious cream filled tartlet (mmmm), I always feel that by making something yourself can ease the guilt you feel when indulging your gluttony through your homemade marvel. (This usually isn’t the case for me, I must admit – it’s hard to make me feel guilty for loving food, glorious food).

Here is an incredibly and rather embarrassingly simple recipe: Banoffee pie, topped with Crunchie bars a la Donal Skehan, however I also find that placing some Terry’s chocolate orange segments on top works just as well – the orange zinginess flows beautifully into the creamy, caramel banana. OR why not have both? Well, I did say I was an unrepentant glutton!

YOU WILL NEED:

An 18” cheesecake tin (I’m sure they have a proper name, but I’m clueless as to what it is)

13 digestive biscuits (CRUSH THEM)

A tin of caramel (if you don’t have this, a tin of condensed milk will suffice, it just means more work…ugh)

112g unsalted butter

150ml whipped cream (I always go for double, shocker, I know)

2 bananas

1. Melt the butter in a saucepan.

2. Add the crushed digestive biscuits to the melted butter and stir in.

3. Pour this mixture into the cheesecake tin, smooth over with a spoon to ensure it is evenly spread.

4. Place in the fridge for 2 hours, or until it has set.

5. If you cannot get a tin of caramel, you can boil condensed milk for 2 hours until it forms caramel.    However, this is very labour intensive and the tinned caramel is usually located beside the condensed milk in the supermarket!

6. When the biscuits have set, pour the caramel over over them.

7. Slice the bananas evenly and place them over the top of the caramel.

8. Remove from the tin and place whipped cream over the top.

9. Add a topping of your choice – Crunchie bars, Terry’s Chocolate orange….anything goes!

And there you have it – how easy is that? Apart from the fact that is takes 2 hours for the biscuits to set, this recipe is the ultimate in comfort food, tasting ten times more glorious on a cold winter’s day, with the rain beating off the windows, the fire on and a movie on the telly. And you – on the couch – enjoying this gorgeous, yet simple, but excessively Romantic treat. Anyone say Wordsworth? Thought not! :/

Enjoy,

Jamie.

Banoffee Pie: Always a winner!

Aside

Leave a Reply

