Lifestyle, Men's Fashion

My favourite AW purchases | Jamie Tuohy

A/W is probably my favourite time when it comes to fashion and 2012’s offerings are better than ever. WINTOUR is coming, so I’ve been stocking up on the season’s necessities. Although, I must admit, the way in which I delineate necessity isn’t exactly conventional. Or practical. Nevertheless, here are some of my favourite purchases so far.

Zara Aviator-Style Jacket

Over the last few weeks, I’ve slowly been developing a predilection for aviator-style jackets and the manifestation of this love has been abundant and expensive. After much (not really) procrastination, I welcomed this beautiful baby into my covetous arms. It’s two weeks old and good as gold. Literally – the gold zip detailing was a deal clincher for me. This really is a solid winter coat and despite my propensity towards impracticality, it is both a stylish and pragmatic winter staple. Okay, it’s suede, but it never rains in Ireland, so this will be absolutely fine.

Denim Aviator Jacket

Can you spot a theme emerging? I have been looking for a denim aviator for the last year and ideally I would have liked a €350 Levis one, but this Pull & Bear option is a great alternative, saving me a whopping €300. A/W12 is all about the aviator jacket, with everyone from Burberry to APC sending models down the catwalk in luxurious and tactile comfy versions of this classic style. Naturally, the high-street was quick to follow suit and the likes of Pull & Bear and Zara have some fantastic aviator jackets that are equally as stylish as their designer counterparts, but far more pocket-friendly. (Although, if you buy them in all possible styles, then maybe the latter part of that sentence is rendered futile!)

 Pull and Bear T-Shirt

I LOVE this t-shirt and it was a steal at only €12.99 from Pull & Bear. Alexander McQueen and Burberry have been emblazoning their t-shirts with animal faces for the past year and I’ve been longing for one of their creations ever since. I couldn’t resist this tee when I found it, costing a tenth of the price, but just as voguish. Givenchy has a near-identical version of this t-shirt, so ten points to Pull & Bear for their ‘inspired’ piece! I think this will look really cool with some black slim-fit jeans, the aforementioned denim aviator jacket and a pair of Kurt Geiger beige brogues.

River Island Brogues

Far exceeding my obsession with brogues is my obsession and dedication to wearing suede. Also, as a coffee-wielding friend can testify, despite my best efforts to keep my suede clobber in pristine condition, it often falls victim to caffeine’s staining malice. Nevertheless, I had to have these berry brogues, because they were too all-encompassing to pass up. Brogues. In suede. In one of the season’s hottest hues?! Perfection. Here’s hoping these babies can withstand the cosmos’ and karma’s efforts to destroy them.

Standard

Leave a Reply

